top of page
Glen Buckendorf
David Lucky
Dick Vandenburg
Idaho Closed
Glen Buckendorf 02
Larry Parsons
Caleb Kircher (left)
Champion Larry Parsons
Champion Larry Parsons
Idaho Closed 078 (1)
Champion Garrett Reynolds
Champion Caleb Kircher
Idaho Closed 122
Champion Caleb Abernathy
Champion Caleb Abernathy
Idaho Closed/Idaho Open/Blitz Championships

Idaho State Champions 1947-Present


     In 1947-1957 and 1968-1969, only the "Idaho Tournament" (aka Idaho Invitational) or Idaho Open tournament was held. The Idaho Tournament from 1947-1957 was open to all Idaho residents, but several players were invited from out-of-state. The top placing Idaho resident was declared the Idaho State Champion. Separate Idaho Closed and Idaho Open tournaments were held from 1958-1967 and from 1970-today, except that some years during that interval didn't have an Idaho Open tournament. Except for 1947-1957 and 1968-1969, it is from the Idaho Closed that the title of Idaho State Champion is declared.

     The Idaho State Championship title was shared in 1951. From 1952-1976 the title was given on tie breaks. From 1977 to today the title is once again shared among the tied players.

* Doitchin Krastev illegally used the name Jason Evers when competing in the 2008 and 2010 Idaho Closed State Championships.

Join a Tournament!


"Chess as a sport requires a lot of mental stamina, and this is what that makes it different from a physical sport. Chess players have a unique ability of taking in a lot of information and remembering relevant bits. So, memory and mental stamina are the key attributes."                  - Viswanathan Anand
ICA Tournaments
bottom of page