top of page
  • Writer's pictureAdam Porth

2017 Idaho Closed Pre-registrants

The Idaho Closed is coming up soon! Every year the ICA hosts the Idaho Closed where the State Champion is crowned. The 2016 State Champion is David Lucky. We sure hope he decides to defend his crown! The event begins February 18-20, 2017 (see details below). Link to flyer here

  1. Jeff Roland

  2. James Inman

  3. Bill Arnold

  4. Dewayne Derryberry

  5. Alex Machin

  6. Barry Eacker

  7. Tom Booth

  8. Dan Looney

  9. Desmond Porth

  10. Dylan Porth

  11. Darwin Porth

  12. Adam Porth

  13. Emily Biancavilla

  14. Kevin Patterson

  15. Peter Clark

  16. Quentin Van Law

  17. Otto Olson

  18. River Shepard

  19. Levi Catangcatang

  20. Zack McStay

  21. Alise Pemsler

  22. George Lundy

  23. Paul Smits

February 18-20, 2017

A Northwest Chess Grand Prix Event!!!

Format: 6 Round Swiss System

Time Controls: 30/120 SD/60 Delay=5 seconds.

Site: Shilo Inn, 1586 Blue Lakes Blvd. N., Twin Falls, Idaho 83301

Please stay at the Shilo Inn in Twin Falls and support the site (plus it's just very convenient too to stay at the place the event is played).

Please call 208-737-6280 and speak to Darlene (or email so that the ICA can get credit for your stay at the Shilo Inn, which reduces the amount we pay for the site.

Room rates if reserved by 2-5-2017 will be $67.00/night. But you still need to call or email Darlene. Please do not register at Shilo online, as if you do, ICA will not get credit for the hotel stay.

Entry Fee: $25 if registered by February 12, 2017. $20 for Seniors (60+) and Juniors (under 18) if registered by February12, 2017. $40 for EVERYONE if registered after February 12, 2017. Current ICA Membership is required for participation in this tournament.

Current US Chess Membership is required, available at site or online at

Current ICA Membership is required.

Restriction: This tournament is open to Idaho residents only.

One Section: Open

Check-in and Registration: 7:30-8:30am Saturday, February 18, 2017.


Round 1: 9:00 a.m., Saturday, February 18, 2017

Round 2: 4:00 p.m., Saturday, February 18, 2017

Elections/Annual Business Meeting 8:30 a.m.-9:30 a.m., Sunday, February 19, 2017

Round 3: 10:00 a.m., Sunday, February 19, 2017

Round 4: 4:30 p.m., Sunday, February 19, 2017

Round 5: 8:00 a.m., Monday, February 20, 2017

Round 6: 3:00 p.m., Monday, February 20, 2017

One 1⁄2 point bye (Available for rounds 1-5). One zero-point bye available in round 6. Must commit before second round


Prizes: Trophies or plaques: 1st, 2nd, 3rd Overall; 1st: Expert, A, Woman, Junior, Senior, Unrated; 1st, 2nd: B, C, D, E

(includes F & below).

Tiebreaks: 1) Head-to-Head (if 2-way tie only); 2) Solkoff; 3) Median; 4) Cumulative of Opposition; 5) Cumulative.

Chief TD: Barry Eacker

90 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page